General 40k Shinanigans

Progress on the Skull Cannon

So I have made progress on the skull cannon.  Cleaned up the masked areas and did most of the highlights (minus the extreme highlights I will do at the end with mithril silver) and did the majority of the work on the riders.  My intent is for the front two bloodletters to look lava-ish.  However, I think I need to cover more of them with black and brown and have the reds and yellows be less apparent.  Not sold on them currently.  I also have designed and built a lava base as well as doing the first portion of the lava.  Now I have to paint the rocks and skulls.

001 002 003 004 005

Well, thanks for reading,

KI

4 responses

  1. looks great! love the hellish fiery highlights:)

    July 20, 2015 at 1:46 am

    • Thanks! It’s my first heavy airbrush model and so I am on a bit of a learning curve doing blending. I like how it’s turning out so far. I love the Khorne chariots and basing the larger models. They are like miniature dioramas.

      July 21, 2015 at 8:46 pm

  2. Overall it’s looking great.

    The base needs more oranges and brighter yellows, less red. It just doesn’t convey lava/heat with those toned down colors.

    The Bloodletters in the front, try some glazes and washes to blend it together. You’d have to experiment but I’d start with a yellow glaze, then move down to an orange wash/glaze and if needed hit it with a brown wash selectively. You just need to pull together that palette of colors some and give it some depth.

    July 20, 2015 at 10:38 am

    • I added some oranges, yellows, and even some speckled white in last night and started the skulls. However, I am not sure about using washes to tone down the models. My concern is that, looking at concept art of lava borne things, the lowest areas are gonna be the brightest. So I feel as if this would be defeated with washes which settle in those low areas. I may start expanding the darker areas with brighter, but not quite yellow, paints and work down so that the majority is brown, dark red, or black with bright yellow and white lowlights. Then, paint yellow lines with white highlights and use washes and glazes to blend the lines (the lines being the cracks caused by movement in the hardened lava that is their skin). Not sure. I may bust out a test bloodletter before experimenting too much on the skull cannon.

      July 21, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Leave a Reply

