General 40k Shinanigans

Daemonkin of Khorne!

So, I don’t have my copy yet, having ordered it from GW.  But after looking at full rulesets online, I would like to discuss the cool things and the not-so-cool things.

 

Let’s start with the mother of not-so-cool things:  Bloodthirsters.  Their complete lack of upgrades makes them much less potent of a force.  HOWEVER, you can field…well, a LOT of them.  PER slaughtercult you can field 3 (1 in the slaughtercult and 2 for the lord of slaughter option).  So, given the points you can make a devastating list.  But really…no upgrades?  Not one?

Lack of oblits and mutilators:  These guys belong in this codex.  I mean, they have hellbrutes, they have possessed, they even have vanilla CSM and cultists.  But not these guys.  Just disappointed.

Gifts:  The loss of gifts in general sort of sucks.  Rolling was annoying, but it was nice to be able to plop an AP2 weapon in a squad with the character for 10 points.  Overall, I like the direction they are headed and I foresee daemons following the same pattern with their next book because, well…daemons need a new book to make them less exploitable.

Oh…and crushers are still stupid expensive and garbage…and to make it worse, when a new book comes out this book won’t get better 😦

Also, chaos champions and characters lost a LOT of options.  No more options for terminator champions, few for CSM and Zerker champs.  It looks like customization is pretty much gone.

Now the cool stuff!!!!

FEARLESS!!! RARGH!  Yep, daemons are fearless again.  Now, my bloodletters that lose…oh well.

Mixing! : Now I can slap my locis into squads of CSM.  So since they already have rage from MoK, I can slap hatred in there…so 5 possessed on the charge will have 2 base+2 rage with hatred at S6.  That’s 20 S6 attacks with rerolls!

HUGE VERSATILITY!  You can make your list however you want.  With 1 slaughtercult, you can then take 16 units of small bikers.  16 MSU biker squads with melta, plasma, and flamer.  What was that about knight and wave serpent spam you say?

Multiple lords of war:  You can take a battle forged army and take 2 Lord of Skulls at 2000 points.  Just wow.  Yeah, may get one of these guys because now that I have seen the rules they are just NASTY.  Don’t look to bad with the helmeted option either.  Wish the brass scorpion was in there, but oh well.

Not over the top!  This sounds like a not cool thing, but I love playing the army that not many people play.  This book is going to attract very few who don’t already play fluffy lists.  It is exploitable, but it forces you to buy units like possessed, crushers, cultists, and warpfiends to REALLY be exploitable.

Bloodthirsters EVERYWHERE!  1 unit of slaughtercult, 1 lord of slaughter, 1 hellbrute.  That means, you can get 3 thirsters for getting 2 MSU squads of bloodletters (160 pts total), a hellbrute (100 points), and 5 possessed (150 points).  Yeah, that’s 410 points, Then you get ANOTHER 3 THIRSTERS!  You would need to run a MASSIVE army, but still, freaking awesome!

Walkers…and more walkers…and more walkers.  Thor over at Creative Twilight should like this one.  Run one slaughtercult and then you can take 8 walkers.  Run 2 and run 16.  You get the idea.

It’s made to run literally dozens of small units to rack up that blood tithe.  Just can’t wait.

 

Overall, I am extraordinarily thrilled!  This army will make even losing fun with all the shenenigans from the blood tithe.  However, I just hope it doesn’t get exploited somehow and become the new “it” army, though those I play will know I have played mono-khorne for years before this.  However, this has made me realize I need bikers, like badly.  A bunch of them.  This army will need a way to zip around and harass the enemy.  I also like the fact that I can take a rhino as a unit.  A fast attack unit.  Then…stuff bloodletters into it if I wish.

Well, can’t wait to get my copy.  Gonna put together a preliminary list!  Gotta go buy stuff.

 

Thanks for reading,

KI

One response

  1. I have a review going up later this morning but I like the codex as well.

    The loss of gifts was kind of expected. Same with CSM losing some options. I mean, we all wanted absolutely everything we had but merged into one force but there had to be some changes to make that work without being too powerful. Left as it was, without these changes, I think it would have become the book you don’t want, the one where EVERYONE is playing it.

    I was sad not to see Oblits and Mutilators but again, I can see it. Oblits fill a huge gap in this codex, fire power and versatility. This is a very focused codex where your objective is to get on top of your enemy and Oblits would leave the codex with very few weaknesses. Mutilators, well, they just weren’t “needed”. This army covers assault easily and there is Termies for a 2+ if that’s what you’re after. Merging them together though, as Mutilators do, again I feel would just be a bit much.

    Basically, there’s stuff I’d love to have seen as well but in the grand scheme of things I can’t fault the design.

    Formations and stuff, I have to get more models. Going to need Possessed and Crushers to make some things work and I don’t own either right now.

    March 29, 2015 at 7:28 am

Leave a Reply

