General 40k Shinanigans

Updates and a Question!

Hello all…

So, first, the question.  THIS, is MY painting sheet (not really a pallet, it’s just what I scrape/brush excess paint off on to).  IMGP0052

So….I think you can see the dominant colors.  Would love to see other’s.  I know some people, like the author of Thin Your Paint that probably has his in like straight lines.

Onto more blog-ish stuff…

I have made progress on the possessed.  IMGP0053 IMGP0054 IMGP0055 IMGP0056

Still have to do the black edging and highlighting, details, and then going back around and cleaning up.  I am struggling with the horns though.  If anyone has a solid “how to” on horns, would love to see it.  Managed a little progress with the Obliterator

IMGP0058 IMGP0057

And I continued working on my Vindicator shield.  My vindicator I hope to be a culmination of my painting and sculpting skill.  It is a possessed vindicator and I am trying to make it look the look.

IMGP0060

The spots are where various daemon arms, heads, and torsos will be sticking out.  They will have bits of GS to look like they are being held back/ breaking through.

My list that I am working on still has some work to be done to be 100% for an 1850 list (plus a LOT of GS bases).  I have to finish converting and then paint one more oblit, finish about 5 more CSM, finish the Vindi, the Pred, 3 more Rhinos, and a total of 9 Possessed (of which 1 is 100%, 4 more are the ones above, and 4 more after that are straight black).  However, I already have painted 20 CSM, 9 Thousand Sons, Dark Apostle, Chaos lord, and a Rhino.  A lot of the models already have quite a bit of work on them as well.  Well, gonna keep pluggin’ away over the next week and I’ll update next weekend.

Thanks for reading,

KI

5 responses

  1. My blotting/wiping paper towel is pretty unimpressive, but I’ll take a picture of it just because you threw down the gauntlet.

    The Possessed look very good, and the Vindicator is shaping up nicely. I’m guessing you’re going to modify that Imperialis (the winged skull)?

    February 17, 2015 at 10:39 am

    • The winged skull is going to be covered by a plaguebearer. That entire top edge is going to be sculpted into an erupting plaguebearer. Oh, and I was not throwing down the gauntlet…well, a little. Mainly I was just poking at your OCD. 😀

      February 17, 2015 at 1:34 pm

  2. Looking good. I dig the stylized highlighting you’re doing on the Possessed. Not sure what else to call it but the streaky layering.

    Cool idea on the VIndicator shield too. That’s what I love about Chaos, so many cool creative conversions.

    When I do horns the easy way – which is most of the time, I just use washes. I start it off thick at the base and then brush up to the point. If you get it right then you create that gradation you often see people use for horns. I’ll even mix layers of washes or glazes to create cool effects, different colors.

    February 17, 2015 at 1:31 pm

    • The layers are supposed to give the impression of lightened mottling. I like it for my daemonesque models and looks impressive on my mutilators and so I am mimicking it in my possessed.

      The vindicator shield will be the most radical conversion on the model but the entire vehicle will be heavily converted (as this is my only possessed vehicle).

      I will have to try that. Do you do that for horns as well on infantry?

      February 17, 2015 at 1:37 pm

      • Any horns really. I do have a slightly more involved process too that I posted in response to you on my blog. I’d say 90% of the time though, I just rely on washes and glazes.

        February 17, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Leave a Reply

