General 40k Shinanigans

Painter’s ADD

Oh my, I never realized how bad my painter’s ADD was.  Until I have about half dozen projects that are all going at the same time.  

Bloodslaughterer

Blood Thirster

Flaming Chariot

Obliterators

Mutilators

Chaos Contemptor Dread

Possessed CSM

Oh…plus a plethora of other stuff that hasn’t even begun or I just have a solid plan for (for example, I have an exalted chariot that I worked on but the only thing I like about it are the seekers but the metal chariot is just boring looking)…

I am closest to done on the Mutilators I think, then the Thirster, then about 30-50% on the rest.  Ugh.  I need to pick a project, crank through it, and then finish it and move on.  Here are the pics of the works in Progress

The Bloodthirster:

ImageImage

 

I still need to detail the steel, highlight the leather, work his face, claws, hooves, wings, and finish the bone plate on the shoulder.  

 

Blood Slaughterer:

ImageImage

 

I worked on the brass last night.  I still need to highlight the brass, work on the cabling, and paint the steel on the joints (I think the joints are all going to be steel colored).  Currently he doesn’t have a base.  Lots of work to be done, but coming along nicely.  I am looking forward to painting all the bodies sticking out of the cabling and the gore I hope to work onto the blade.  

Burning Chariot:

ImageImage

 

Oblits and Mutilators:

Image

I don’t have any pics of the oblits handy, but they are still a VERY rough WIP.  I have done a little work on these guys (the mutilators) since this point, mainly their bases.

Chaos Contemptor Dread:

ImageImage

 

This guy has a lot of the basics done, it is a matter of knocking out the highlights on all the brass and black, and working the small details which there are a metric ton of.

 

Possessed CSM;
My last big thing I have started, though hardly in earnest.

 Image

 

I have actually 5 more assembled and with no paint on them besides primer.  Want to get all 10 done for my CSM army.  I love possessed models and they are really neat in gameplay, especially now that they are troops with the crimson slaughter.  

 

So, this is what’s on my table and what I am working on.  Now…to figure out what to finish.  Sort of leaning towards the slaughterer.  

 

Thanks for reading,

KI

4 responses

  1. I’m the complete opposite, I work on a single project until it’s 100% done. It’s great in that I get stuff completed but it’s also nice to have more stuff with a little something started too, as in less units plastic grey. It’s a delicate balance I think. Spread the love at first to get everything started and then pick a project and go.

    April 30, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    • For me it’s ideas. An idea will come into my head and I will be über excited and work on a model. Then I will come down to what I call “The Grind” on a model, or better known as all the trim and details and edging and highlighting that takes a lot of time but is not the majority of the model; Things like backpack vents and belt buckles and grenades. However, once I have a bunch of things started, I eventually realize I need to get stuff done and will power through finishing models for like a week and get a ton done. Hopefully, I will do that again.

      May 1, 2014 at 7:32 am

      • I have the exact same problem. I get excited about an idea I’ve come up with or seen somewhere so I drop whatever I’m working on to try it out.
        I also have a bad habit of army hopping so I end up feeling like I have to rush out a bunch of models, which just leads to that many more unfinished projects. I’m trying to be more disciplined about it and I find I actually enjoy finishing things!

        Anyway, I really like the icicles on the bloodthirster’s base. Are those something you buy and glue on or are my making them somehow?

        May 1, 2014 at 12:03 pm

      • Oh I know I really enjoy finishing things… I just also really enjoy starting things. 😀

        The icicles are from the GW winter basing kit.

        May 1, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Leave a Reply

