General 40k Shinanigans

Contemptor Dread WIP

Ok all, I have been making progress.  Since my last post, I have finished 20 CSM and made notable progress on my obliterator, though I will post pictures of that later.  HOWEVER, a long while back I ordered a sons of Horus contemptor Dread from FW.  Not wanting to paint it 30k colors, I have opted to stay true to it’s origins and paint it black legion (say it’s a loaner for fluff purposes, or hell, even part of the black legion allied in as I often run my list as black legion).  SO, here are some initial pics.

Contemptor Front

Contemptor side

Front

Short post today, wanted to throw these up for comments.

Thanks for Reading,

KI

6 responses

  1. 40kterminatus

    The flames look great.

    February 6, 2014 at 5:49 am

  2. That’s a great looking start. It’s such a cool model too.

    I’m going to give you a challenge. Do not dry brush this model at all. A model of this size is pretty easy to do edge highlighting on so take the opportunity to get good at at. Plus, with so much black it’s easy to fix if you goof up some edges.

    February 6, 2014 at 8:52 am

    • I agree, edge highlighting would look better on this model than drybrushing will and it’s a good one to practice on.

      I also agree that it looks great so far!

      February 6, 2014 at 11:50 am

    • No dry brushing yet. The model does not really lend itself to drybrushing though and I had planned on running all edge highlighting anywhos…so, challenge accepted. 😛 I actually have to do something to break up the large black areas (shoulders, back, top, upper leg plates). May do the bright yellow chaos stars that are so common on black legion stuff, or at least one.

      February 6, 2014 at 1:46 pm

  3. Master Elect Munson

    Wow, this is looking good.Maybe throw some gore on the blades, a bit of detail around the pipes in back (copper, guilliman glaze, help it look burned out). Very cool so far.

    February 15, 2014 at 8:19 am

    • Thanks for ideas for the piping in the back. Been thinking about how to make it look. Sorry it took so long to reply.

      February 20, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Leave a Reply

