General 40k Shinanigans

Chaos Lord of Nurgle

So I have begun painting a conversion that I began working on after ordering Greenstuff Industries Tentacle Maker.  The concept began as a possible obliterator conversion as I have yet to find the legs that make me truly happy with my miniature defiler conversion.  However, for the Chaos Lord of Nurgle, it looks epic.  So I asked myself, how do I tie in Nurgle with Word Bearers.  So I opted for a Nurgle Lord with classic Nurgle colors (green, brown, bone) with the remnants of previous garments before swelling and deforming being the colors of my primary chapter (crimson, black, parchment).

Overall, he is a massive kitbash.  He emerges from these kits (from what I remember)

Head: Plaguebearer

Torso- Chaos Terminator Sorcerer

Lightning Claw: Terminator Lord

Power Fist: Terminator Box

Shoulder Pad: Chaos Knights

Book: Plague monks

Nurgling: Plaguebearers

Icon: Bloodletters w/ the top from a plaguebearers kit.

Cape: Loincloth of daemon prince

Loincloth: Terminator Lord

I began painting last night.  I built up the armor slightly to add a bit of definition to the areas I will highlight.  I then painted the head, banner, and tentacles.  The tentacles are a 3:2 ratio of elf flesh and changling pink and then washed with purple then red.  This is what I have thus far.

008 009 006

The pictures are not great. I took them after I finished painting.  The banner will be a brownish color while the skull will be bright white with a sharp contrast producing wash and the spine will also be the same.  All of the brass will get the new oxidizing technical paint on it, so I am looking forward to that.  The Nurgling will be a green-brown to create contrast.  The parchments will all get a 1:1 mix of agrax earthshade and ogryn flesh to slowly drop the tone to aged paper.  The tentacles will get a drybrush of a light pink and then some hard highlights of either a brighter pink or a brighter, sharper, flesh color.

Well, thanks for reading.

KI

3 responses

  1. The tentacle “legs” was a cool idea. All around it’s a great conversion and the paint is looking good. The green armor is coming along well. He’s really going to stand out once done.

    December 11, 2013 at 7:35 am

    • Thanks. I’m hoping that he sticks out, but I need to adjust fire before I go too much farther. I think a key here will be to make sure that his head doesn’t blend with his armor too much. If that happens it will look “toy soldierish” and just be green all over.

      December 11, 2013 at 12:19 pm

      • I would do the head a different color entirely. When I did my Plague Marines I used Ghost Grey by Vallejo. It’s a blue’ish grey that makes for a convincing skin tone on something that’s corpse-like. It would lend some nice contrast as well.

        December 11, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Leave a Reply

