General 40k Shinanigans

Bases: Cobblestones

So I have used resin bases before.  They are detailed and nice.  But I was looking for thick cobbletones or crude paving stones.  something you would see in 17th century France.  So I decided to GS some.  Viewed alone, the stones are crude and exaggerated.  However, I think in the 28mm scale they work well.

So…this is how I do it (right now, looking into a different way to do it).

Materials needed:

Base of choice

Green Stuff

Sculpting Tools.

That’s it.  It’s actually very simple.

Onto the process.

First, take a ball of GS and flatten it to cover the base evenly with GS.  Use whatever technique you want to flatten and portion this out.  The deeper the GS, the more pronounced the cracks between the stones.  Deeper cracks are nice if you want a more aged look with sprouts of grass popping up between the stones.

016

Next, use something long and straight.  For 25mm bases, I use the back of my blade and for larger bases I use my kitchen paring knife.  Just make sure you wash it afterwards.  Make parralell lines across the base.  It should look like this:

018

This will be the width of your bricks.  If you want scale, I go for the width of a space marine foot for width.  Narrower is fine, but it can be tedious if you are doing a lot of them.  So I go with a space marine foot.

Next, you need to seperate the stones.  Take a blade and start from one side and cut very lightly into the GS to make the lines.  Make them light in case you don’t like it once you are done.  Make sure you alternate them like bricks, but not perfectly.  I opt for a rough hewn look (again, think 17th century France) and vary the lengths between 1.5 and 2 times the width normally.  Some end up very short.

Now, it’s time to start.  Take some water to make your blade non-stick.  Also, chap-stick works as well and doesn’t seem to create a problem when painting…all you have to do is rinse it off after you are done.  Cut the length cuts deeper, down to the base.  Make sure that the blase is sharp.  If it is dull, it will pull.  If you HAPPEN to have a tool that can make cuts and is the same width or narrower than the bricks and you can use a chisel motion, that’s great.  Overall, should look like this after this step:

019 020

Well, this looks like a brick wall or freshly laid flagstones.  Take a tool for shaping.  I use the spoon side of the GW sculpting tool.

Now, go around the brick corners and flatten them a little.

Afterwards, you should have this:

022

021

This is sort of plain.  So I use a sculpting tool with an edge and pick away at the brick edges to cause damage.  Also, if you cut to the base, if you wait a while you can pull one up and lay it at an angle as if it had come out of place or you can even put dirt there to show a missing stone.  I also put bullet marks, chaos symbols, and general wear and tear.

023

Last step would be to adjust the contour.  No cobblestone is perfectly smooth.  Again, I take the smooth side of the GW spoon end sculpting tool and create small indents in various bricks, making sure I don’t make a pattern.  It’s subtle and small, but will pay off huge when you apply washes.

025

So, the final product looks like this:

026 IMGP0042

Thanks for reading, hope you found this useful!

KI

4 responses

  1. Really nice looking bases you got there, will try this on my Malifaux crew.

    December 10, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    • Thank! I would love to see it on a malifaux model as the models there really fit the 17th century France look and feel.

      December 11, 2013 at 12:18 pm

  2. It’s a pretty simple basing method to create and it looks great once done. Good tutorial.

    December 11, 2013 at 7:37 am

    • My only difficulty is building that consistency on GS thickness. I about have it, but it is a pain. I find that doing large batches produces a more and more consistent result. Last night I knocked out 10 more. Downside of that is it eats through GS like nobodies business!!

      December 11, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Leave a Reply

