General 40k Shinanigans

Standoff over and a renewed idea for blogging

Well, the Standish Standoff has finally come to a conclusion.  It was a blast and I had a great time.  3 good games, lots of good conversation, got to look at some really impressive models, and I even won second runner up with my Khorne Chariot.  I got stomped, but not as bad as last year…however, I didn’t bring a list that was built to win, I built a list for people to say “ooh, that’s cool” or just make people chuckle once or twice at the gameplay concept.  I lost my first game due to some pretty severe play choice errors which were compounded by the fact I couldn’t make a save at all!

Next game was against sisters and was a variation of the relic.  We tied, to the point, and overall I think had we had more time I could have taken full battle points.  

Lastly was by far my favorite game.  Slaanesh and Khorne vs. Khorne.  The game was all assault and while he won, both armies were radically reduced in size…oh, and it didn’t help that neither of us cared about the objectives.  I mean, those armies were made to just chop each other to pieces. 😀

However, as I look at how I felt about the games vs. the painting competition, I realize I have been blogging about my second favorite part of the game.  I hope to, from here on out, create tutorials on painting, basing, and converting.  It strikes me that I have entered that level of competence in the hobby side to start sharing how I do things.  

 

So I hope to get some of those posted to try to re-energize my blog.  It stagnated as 
I played less and less and painted less and less and I struggled to find topics to write about seeing that battle reports became dry and dull when I wrote them.  

 

Well, thanks for reading,

KI

5 responses

  1. It was definitely a fun day.

    Hobby blogging is also easier and I don’t mean that in an insulting way, I’m doing a ton of it myself. Doing editorials, tactics and battle reports is tough. It’s hard work and there are sites that do it already and do it very well. Hobby stuff though is very subjective and we all have our own methods and techniques which allows us to learn from every hobby blog out there.

    November 24, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    • I take no insult from it. I just don’t have the motivation or time to be blog stuff like that.

      Now I need to figure out the stuff I do well enough to make a tutorial on. I was thinking a tutorial on the ice technique as well as the snow technique I use, as well as my color scheme I use for my blue Khorne daemons. Perhaps drybrushing 😀 because, while overused, I am REALLY good at that. Also may have a few on GS. Would love suggestions.

      November 24, 2013 at 5:35 pm

      • Do you what you know to start, the stuff you mentioned. From there use the blog as a means to learn new techniques, OSL, wet-blending (IE: two-brush!), NMM, whatever, and document your learning process. It’s what I’ve done and how I’ve grown as a painter.

        November 24, 2013 at 9:31 pm

      • justhippie

        Don’t worry about “what you’re good at” Hell there is always someone out there that would be interested in basic assembly. How to begin a conversion. What type of glue to use. I think you could just take some pics while working on whatever you happen to be doing and it would be interesting to follow and see the progress.
        Are you back into Rats? New CSM units getting worked on? New big Nasty for Khorne?
        If it isn’t fun and enjoyable for you it will be hard to find the time and motivation IMO. Especially with wife and kids!

        November 26, 2013 at 8:58 am

      • True. However, the interest in guard died when daemons became a hoard style army. Daemons replaced guard and CSM replaced daemons in points/model and play style (elite vs. hoard, specialized vs. generalists, and both now have some devastating psykers). Kept many of the models for some future work and I use them for cultists.

        November 26, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Leave a Reply

