General 40k Shinanigans

Trying out daemons still…

Trying out Daemons Still

So I am still trying out the new daemons and I ran against a Tau player I have played against previously. Previously, I had won most of our games by virtue of the Tau codex being a fairly “meh” book. Long story short, even with amazing luck on the Warpstorm table, I got trounced pretty damn hard. I am trying to like the new book as some other players who play daemons have had great success with it…I just refuse to purchase a ton of new models for my army. 😛

Onto the nuts and bolts…

I ran-
herald of tzeentch with ML2, Grimoire, and disc
Herald of Nurgle with FNP
Herald of Khorne with Greater Ether Blade and Warp Breath
Masque of Slaanesh
Sorcerer of Tzeentch with Force Axe, LC, ML3, MoT, Sigil of Darkness, Spell Familiar

16 Bloodletters
13 Plaguebearers
10 Plaguebearers
10 CSM w/ 2 Meltas in Rhino

3 Screamers

Soulgrinder of Nurgle with Phlegm and MoN
Predator w/ AC, HB, Havoc Launcher

He ran Some Tau commander with Cyclic Ion Rifle

2×12 Firewarriors
6 Firewarriors
6 Pathfinders
2 Barracudas
2 Hammerheads

2×3 Crisis suits w/ Melta/Plasma (whatever the Tau call it)

So….here is some issues with MY list.

Rhino= Capacity of 10. 10 CSM. 1 Sorcerer. Yeah, didn’t think of this when I built the list. Footslogging 10 man CSM unit with rolling cover. D’OH!

Dakka preds are great in my CSM force with a plethora of anti-tank (havocs, oblits, melta and plasma out the wazoo). The Dakka Preds work well against the infantry blobs but the tri las would have been better and the dakka pred was fundamentally a bad a idea for this list.

Masque=Great. Masque without icon support= Masque that scatters 11 inches behind the enemy and has no cover to hide behind. Masque with an ADL to hunker down behind would be much handier.

List was 1500

So, long story short the T3 bloodletter never made it there. Hell, the FIRST T3 squad died, then I rolled 12 on the warpstorm table, got 11 more, deepstruck FORWARD of where the original squad was, then THEY got gunned down. So bloodletters are an interesting choice. Find it odd that they are more expensive than the other troops with the T3, 5++, 1 attack base, and lack of anyway to get into combat quickly. They are about on par with the other troops. The plaguebearers suffered an immeasurable amount of fire and just hunkered down. In cover as objective squatters the FNP herald was not really necessary and the 70 points could have been saved or used elsewhere. The Screamers with a herald was great. I have tried pink horrors and I found them terrible. Thus I traded my horrors for some flamers a friend had as a surplus. I hope to build an anti-tank jet-bike squad to zip around with and misfortune the bejesus out of things. Woohoo. They are a keeper. They tore through a Hammerhead then took out 3 of the 6 tau firewarriors in the small squad, then killed 10 of the 12 firewarriors from another squad. They ARE a keeper. The Herald of Khorne is nice, but getting there is again an issue. The soul grinder is nice, but pricey with the current loadout. I attempted to assault with him but he got whacked with a meltashot to the face on overwatch.

So, I liked the CSM compliment. The power armor and dedicated transports, even with me having to footslog them 6″ at a time. The predator earned back it’s paltry 107 points, however a tri-las predator would have served better to simply punch through the hammerheads. Oblits would also be an impressive addition, especially in conjunction with the grimoire for a 2++. After playing the daemons I feel I will gradually allow my CSMs to emerge as more and more of a dominant force in my armies as they become more painted.

Well, thanks for reading,
KI

2 responses

  1. justhippie

    I was looking at a HoK on jugger(w/axe of Khorne and Locus of Fury), he comes in at 120pts is Cavalry now and have fleet and not slowed by difficult terrain even when charging! I plan on dropping Karanak for him next time I run crushers. He is T5 with 3 wounds so those pesky S8 shots he can take on the chin and then LoS the lower S ones to the back. I think BL’s have always had this big threat tattooed on their giant heads so everybody shoots them down. Horrors, daemonettes and PB’s just aren’t perceived as such a threat so they get overlooked for bigger threats. If you ran more FAST elements that got in their face the BL’s probably wouldn’t get shot up as bad. Your old Mono Khorne lists the Hounds and Thirster were the fast threats so got shot at first. Have you tried that list?

    March 23, 2013 at 8:49 am

    • Yeah. The hounds make it to combat, stick for a round, then die. 16 wounds normally lasted 2 rounds of combat (round 1 I would win by 1 or 2, round 2 lose by 1 or 2 die to instability).

      Thirster is NOT flying turn 1 so he gets shot up pretty bad turn one or is in reserve and comes in turn 4 with my luck.

      The bloodletters in both situations got shot up pretty damn bad. Crushers will die quicker than hounds for shooting with no scout and less wounds/point but have the AP3 weapons and high S.

      Perhaps my daemon experience with Khorne daemons has been badly tainted for me by just atrocious rolling (example- 7 hound assaults a rhino and puts 1 glance on it).

      March 23, 2013 at 10:33 am

Leave a Reply

