General 40k Shinanigans

Hiatus over and back with new Chaos Daemons…

So as many may or may not know, I am also a full time college student, parent, husband, and soldier in addition to gamer.  Sometimes, this leaves little time for blogging when I also want to paint, model, and play.  However, I normally balance it all…until now.  This past month has brought about variables that have left me strapped for time and thus not blogging at all.  But, much of that seems to have stabilized and I get the chance to get back into blogging.

So, I come back to the blogging scene shortly after the emergence of the highly anticipated Chaos Daemons codex.  Long story short: I am underwhelmed.

But alas, the new book is here whether I like it or not.  My Khornate host took a beating, as did the tally list and even mono-nurgle as a whole.  Daemons have become quasi-hoard with with some very marginal troops (at best) and some really impressive characters.  As someone I know said, troops shouldn’t do the heavy lifting but they are the only units in the book that got a price reduction while every other unit in the book went up 1-20 points per model while generally losing the ability to sustain survive ranged fire in an edition that supports gunline armies.  This strikes me as a kneejerk reaction to the flamer/screamer spam which seems to have tainted people’s opinion of the daemon army making many think that they were overpowered…which is frankly laughable.

Regardless, with the new daemons of course comes renewed desire to paint.  Thus my iceletters are making slow and steady progress.  It’s always that last 10% of a model that is very hard to figure out how to paint.  Alas, I have finished my first few models, along with a herald, the ice hounds, progress on the chariot, and I got a Khorne Chariot which I am working on magnetizing.

I have had actually gotten a fair amount of comments on my iceletter color scheme thus I have planned out a tutorial on the scheme as well as a magnetization tutorial for the Khorne Chariot and Cannon which was interesting.

The Word Bearers I have been working on have made slow and steady progress.  For them, I established what the models will look like when complete but in my dislike of bare models I have begun painting them with their basic schemes and have managed to complete most of the infantry, most of the HQ units, three rhinos, and a predator.  They are hardly finished but they look better than grey or black.

 

Well, thanks for reading and glad to be back!

KI

8 responses

  1. I played against mono-Nurgle on Saturday and it’s not a push over by any means, even without the tally. The thing they did to Daemons is the same they did to Chaos, if you want that fluffy themed army then you can have it but you have to pay for it and that doesn’t mean it’s good either, just fluffy. I’ve struggled with Chaos and only recently got a firm grasp on them and I well expect Daemons to follow suit; a long road of discovery.

    March 19, 2013 at 7:41 am

    • I believe the CSM codex to be better, but I agree on your overall assessment of the book’s learning curve which I believe is very steep. However, I do dislike the randomness of the army, it almost feels as if the army is playing you and not the other way around. GW went a little overboard on random rolls- Warlord traits, Psyker powers which are the only shooting attack, wargear options, warpstorm tables. Fielding an army with any reliable shooting is iffy at best and the book serves to actually reduce the options for a daemon player play-style which is disappointing.

      March 19, 2013 at 10:01 am

      • If you’ve been reading my blog at all you’ll notice me trying out IG allies. There’s a reason I didn’t jump to the Daemonic brethren 😉

        March 19, 2013 at 10:13 am

      • That is true. I feel the my daemons may be religated to ally status as my CSM make more progress. My issue with leaving daemons is the hobby possibilities that daemons offer.

        March 19, 2013 at 10:15 am

  2. justhippie

    I think some Divination for your CSM could be a HUGE force multiplier. I only started CSM allies for the toys(Heldrake and Maulerfiend) so it won’t help me that much. You and Thor have Oblits, Havocs, CSM, and many other units that could benefit and a detachment consisting of Tzeentch Herald ML3 on a disc with a squad of screamers to boost him around the table is not super expensive. 45pt infiltrating Nurglings to fulfill troops or spend 90 for 10PB and throw them in the woods to GtG all game for 2+ cover.

    March 19, 2013 at 11:06 am

    • I agree, daemons could prove to be one of the most versatile armies in the game with access to every psyker discipline in the core rule book and CSM as allies who are a solid and very reliable book. I look forward to advancing my Word Bearers-esque CSM chapter (technically a semi-secession chapter) with the gibbering hoards to bolster the hardened warriors of the CSM. Gives a better option for cheap crap troop options other than cultists. 😛

      There ARE some lists that are quite potent, for example Mono-Nurgle, but the problem becomes not only specialized metas but also, and more importantly, it just isn’t that fun to play against.

      To further elaborate on my dislike of the warpstorm, it is a mechanic that I dislike on it’s fundamentals. It robs the player(s) of choice. For example, I played a DA player and ended up almost completely destroying his ravenwing bikers as two warpstorm results in a row rolled 6’s for them. This is way to close to the stormlord… which everyone knows I loathe. This is the antithesis of a strategy or tactics game mechanic and is more akin to keno than chess…pure luck. Other rolls infuriate me less, but the mechanic itself is a bad idea.

      March 19, 2013 at 11:56 am

      • justhippie

        At least the Warpstorm has a chance to hurt Daemons too. I do agree that it feels dirty when it swings in the Daemon players favor. I got the reroll warlord trait in 2 games last Sat and I learned quick if it doesn’t hurt your army DON’T reroll it. I had a 7 result that I rerolled and ended up -1 invul to my army, oops.
        There will be some neat combos with CSM Daemon units I’m sure you’ll discover when playing them. It is nice that we have a couple regular players so we can figure out what works and what doesn’t quicker.

        March 20, 2013 at 11:43 am

      • As I said, the warpstorm is an ill-conceived mechanic. Hardly overpowered as it can hurt daemons more often than help them, but also has the ability to reduce the enjoyment of the game which is really the idea of the game.

        All in all, I suspect not even including CSM daemon units for that purpose, the combination of the defensive and durability capabilities of CSM units (oblits, terminators, Plague marines, thousand sons) will allow daemon units to get in and sink their teeth in while the enemy is dealing with the CSM. I imagine units like oblits, terminators, and cult troops will attract heavy volumes of fire. Running Rhinos with 10 CSMs in them will allow not only mobile cover but also target priority issues.

        Looking forward to trying it out.

        March 20, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Leave a Reply

