General 40k Shinanigans

Oblit WIP

So I decided to do something different than the standard black reach conversion for my Oblits. I opted for a terminators version of a defiler. I used GS to make the legs and claw, going for a crab look. This is what I got my first attempt, with a basic paint job on it,

20130129-202250.jpg

20130129-202255.jpg

20130129-202259.jpg

20130129-202304.jpg

Well…I liked him, but the legs lacked the level of detail that I wanted and seeing that the legs were a huge part of the model, they had to be detailed. He also had the major issue of not fitting onto a 40mm base, his stance was way to wide. So I had to in part abandon the defiler look alike concept as it would take a 60mm base and frankly deep striking squads of 60mm bases I s often tough. So I was gonna have to go with a taller, narrower approach.

So my plan was to use tyranid warrior scything talons. After looking at them, they looked a little too small. Thus I opted to buy both them and mawloc scything talons. I know, I know. MC scything talons are gonna be friggin huuuge. Well, they were but I only used part of them. I used GS to help attach the talons. I used four mawloc scything talons for the back four legs and the warrior scything talons for his front two legs. I used the cartilaginous material between leg parts to build up his gun arm below the pad. I used an ork custom power klaw for his power fist to make it look more similar to the defiler or soul grinder claw. so I got my bitz and went to town. This is what I cam up with. I added two back and two front, and disliked it so I added two middle legs. I like this option more after it finished, and I really like the look of the power klaw with the terminator armor.

20130129-202913.jpg

20130129-202918.jpg

20130129-202922.jpg

20130129-202930.jpg

20130129-202942.jpg

20130129-202953.jpg

His gun arm is not glued, and he needs some more banners, green stuff detailing, spikes parts, and chaos-ish symbols and skulls. Overall, his torso looks more like a defiler than I figured he was gonna, his legs ended up looking really good in my opinion as well. The next one will have a different stance to vary it up. I am going to magnetize a spot on his back to put god symbol icons.

Overall, I like the progress thus far. Would love to hear comments concerning the work thus far.

Thanks for reading,

KI

One response

  1. It looks pretty good, but the legs are a little large. You could shorten ‘blade’ and forearm sections to reduce the overall height and width, you could almost cut all the way down to the blobby section at the tip. Maybe replace the blade with a hoof just below the last armor plate. This would help reduce the tyranid vibe a bit and might allow you to get him on the base with a more stable looking stance.

    Or you could ignore my rambling and leave it as it. It already looks pretty cool.

    January 31, 2013 at 9:56 am

Leave a Reply

