General 40k Shinanigans

Testing out CSM

So I decided to test out some CSM units in a 1750 game, so this is what I had

Arihman
Sorcerer of tzeentch with black mace, ML 3, and spell familiar

5 terminators with heavy flamer, three combi-meltas, power swords and two power weapons on champ, and marks and icon of slaanesh

7 noise marines with sonic blasters, blastmaster, and icon

7 thousand sons with rhino
8 thousand sons with rhino
15 cultists

7 warp talons with mark of slaanesh

Might have messed that up.

Went against a mixed sister/guard list with a fortress of redemption.

Because I didn’t take any pictures I will skip play by play and hit the highlights

– Ahriman, pound for pound, is nasty. With the ability to infiltrate units and 4 powers, he is a powerhouse with flexibility. However, without eternal warrior he has to hang out in the back which means that his beams can be a bit to pull off. With his four powers he can be tailored for almost any enemy.

– noise marines got hammered by low AP, barrage, high strength weapons so I didn’t get to test these guys that well.

– terminators are AWESOME. They can be customized great, and feel no pain makes them just brutal. Ha sorcerer with them granting him granting him FNP. However, next time I will be sure to get more biomancy powers to buff them up more.

– thousand sons are great, but I will limit them to only one group. They would do better if infiltrated though.

– warp talons are still a favorite. I may think to infiltrate them next time and opt to go second to allow myself to assault the first turn.

Powers-

Melta beam= awesome. It may allow cover saves, but it allows you to smack that vehicle on the other side of a building,

Boon of mutation- yep, it’s as awesome as I thought. Will definitely use this more when I have a dark apostle in the unit.

Things to invest in-
Hell drake- the four S8 sky fire shots will be nice to get rid of those pesky flyers.

Land raider- With a land raider I can pack it full of a unit such as terminators, and attach Ahriman and a dark apostle (4 terminators and the other two) for a happy infiltrated death star.

Forge fiend/ obliterators- I think I may lean towards the Oblits. Need some long range and flexible firepower that a single shot can’t drop. I don’t care for the GW models but I don’t like the standard conversion. I might try to get some dark vengeance terminators and model them, but I think I may make them different then normal and do something different with the legs. Perhaps crab-like legs and multiple arms with the different weapons on each arm (instead of one arm morphing into different weapons).

Decimate engine/ contempt or dread- this one will be a bigger buy. Be a great assault unit.

Either way, I am pretty stoked to ramp up my CSM painting. The quarters paint scheme is interesting and as my khorne force draws to completion I find myself looking at other projects. I have basing for the dogs, details and eyes for the dogs and bloodletters, and a few touch ups (like helmets and heads) for the older stuff. Then it’s the big thirster and I don’t think I am ready to tackle another one just yet, call me strange. I have been reading a lot of word bearers stuff and I think I have found my proffered force. Plus side is that I can have my cake and eat it too by having a custom host under the word bearers and still be able to draw on lots of named characters such as Erebus, Phaeron, and the Gol Voldak and the Crimson Lord.

Oh, the game ended in a dead tie, 16-16

Thanks for reading
KI

5 responses

  1. Oblits are great but lately I’ve been shying away from them. They are expensive and I just keep feeling I’m better off investing in more units for what I spend on them. Give them MoN and you’re running 76pts a model, so 228pts a squad. Meanwhile you could put down 4 autocannons w/Havocs for 115pts, or do 2 x squads of those and have 8 autocannons for 230pts, 2pts over the Oblits and have 4 more wounds.

    I’m not saying don’t use Oblits, just consider your options. They are versatile as hell, Oblits. For me, other than points, once I saw they lost fearless I began checking out other units.

    December 30, 2012 at 9:19 am

    • Thinking of my long range support, I have debated a few options.

      With hullpoints and the re-emergence of low armor, high volume models (guard and tau) I have debated doing a 115 point dakka squad of four heavy bolters. That said, the question is do I use a forge fiend or Oblits. They both put out high volumes of damage at long range. The fiend is cheaper, but less durable. The Oblits are not fearless, but without being able to be run off the table that isn’t that huge…is it?

      Yeah, the heavy flamer is 10 points and works well against bunkers, blobs, and overwatch. As I said, tau and IG have re-emerged, and as I may use the masque as well, a heavy flamer shot against guard could cause upwards of ten or so wounds. Even without masque, against high model count armies it causes more than the auto cannon could. Against elite armies…that’s what the Oblits plasma cannons or the fiends plasma cannons are for.

      December 30, 2012 at 10:02 am

      • Sure, they can’t be run off the table by staying within 6″ any more but they can still run non-the-less. They are only LD8 unless you give them VotLW. The bigger issue is someone swamping them in melee just to run them down. Sure, you’ll punch down a few but having those Oblits swept will suck. Again, just food for thought.

        Don’t do heavy bolters; take autocannons. You get more range, higher strength and only lose 1 shot per-weapon. Even if you want to mow down infantry the autocannons will net you wounds over the HBs with only needing 2’s to wound.

        December 31, 2012 at 8:43 am

      • Good point. Might take Havocs with auto cannons. Seems a good combo. Will have to try it out.

        December 31, 2012 at 12:06 pm

  2. Chris

    Haven’t played a ton against the new book…. but here is my 5 cents.

    5 terminators with heavy flamer, three combi-meltas, power swords and two power weapons on champ, and marks and icon of slaanesh

    I like the terminator squad- enough melta that you can fire off two one turn to pop a landraider, and still have one for later. I hope the heavy flamer is cheap. I don’t think I have ever seen a termie carry one for real on a battlefield. One of those weapons that would be good considering the terminator’s role on the battlefield/hulk, but gamewise doesn’t work

    Oblits are expensive, but the versatility is amazing. Regardless of your foe, you can pick the weapon which works best in that situation. When I see Oblits on the table, they are one of the highest priority targets. You can use that against opponents; working with a Daemon prince (or something else nasty in cc), you force the enemy to make choices to take lumps in CC or lumps at range. Either way you are putting pressure on the enemy.

    ACs are decent against flyers and light armor. Pretty lackluster other wise. Although the FW kits are amazing!

    December 30, 2012 at 9:48 am

Leave a Reply

