General 40k Shinanigans

On my desk

So I find myself mores excited about the upcoming break from school for painting more than playing. Right now, I have three projects of hefty caliber lined up on my desk, one from each of the armies I have and another in the works. Essentially, I am making a kick ass model for each of the painting categories.

25 mm- the slaanesh sorcerer. He has had little love paid towards him last few days but I finally got the last bit for him. I need to finish up the marines flamer spurt, GS some tormented souls on the jump pack, do up the ground (still not sure what I want for a base…thinking green as marine will be blue and sorcerer will be pink so grass with bits of scorched grass in there). Then finish the marines foot, remove the blue tack and start gluing minor components on, paint, then attach major components after painting. His imagined paint scheme will be a dark pink worked up to a super bright pink with emperors children sign on his shoulder. Need to pick a company for the smurf (thus a edging color…I will likely refer to my local SME on smurfs for this one). The trimming on him will be black with metallic details and purple loincloth and lenses. The whip will be black crackling with either purple or blue lightning (which will wrap onto his hand to indicate the power source is the sorcerer himself).

40 mm- this one is still in the planning stages, nothing hard yet.

60 mm- yeah…nothing for this one yet either.

Monster- the big bad ice thirster. Planned out his base, working on making icicles, plotted out the color scheme. Slow going on this guy. Oh, gotta get new brushes before I tackle this guy as he is so big I don’t want mistakes.

Squad- converting a squad of storm vermin into storm Troopers with the infiltrate doctrine. They will be armed with fantasy hell rifles (the multi-barreled ones) and I am going to convert them so that they are crouching. After that I am going to use dunked bases to make them emerging from water (cutting off some of their feet) and put ghili suits on them. Cool part will be some of the strips of cloth will “float” on the water to give a dynamic sense of motion.

Diorama- either a diorama on the battle of rynns world or a diorama called over the top with IG going over a trench line wearing bretonian style pan helmets (sorta think WW I). Big thing here is that it will have a back drop depicting the rest of the battle and the explosions in the distance and I have some orks for the close in enemies. Get some concertina wire for the obstacles for the orcs. Put little letters stabbed into the trench wall with knives and at the bottom have a commissar shouting and an officer with a whistle or bullhorn or something. Overall, fun to make.

Yeah, so I am pretty well set up for the next quite a few months… Should be a blast!

On that note, my khorne army is coming along. Made some progress on them blue hounds and bloodletters. Need to attach the bloodletter heads, finish up the hounds, do basing and details on both then I can start working on the ice crushers! Hopefully my khorne army gets some luvin come February…they need it!!!!!

Hey, thanks for reading,

KI

4 responses

  1. You preparing for spring or something?

    December 6, 2012 at 9:15 am

    • No, I am attempting to focus on less higher quality models. For the most part my armies are painted, so now I am painting high time intensive projects that are high in conversions and then if I am feeling burnt out on technical and intense painting, I can go back and touch up my previous models (something I intend to do as my painting skills have improved immensely IMO). This will keep me focused on several projects and give me a goal, but at the same time give me the flexibility to work with that I like (I hate being lashed to only a single model or squad).

      December 6, 2012 at 11:03 am

      • Gotcha. Where you were listing stuff out in a categorized manner I figured it was some plan for a tourney or something.

        December 6, 2012 at 1:23 pm

      • It is a factor in it, of course. Hence the diorama. I just prefer not to paint whole squads as I like HQ models and monsters because I can put a lot of effort into individual models. The squads are mostly painted now so I finally can focus primarily on individuals now.

        That said, yes, these will likely be my entry’s for spring or the next standoff.

        December 6, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

