General 40k Shinanigans

The Red Tide emerges for its debut in 6th edition!

20121122-010600.jpg

So after what has seemed like a long time I finally broke out of my rut and got back to what I like most about 40k…the sheer carnage!

So, I played at my FLGS today with a 2000 point generally mono khorne army. We played at 2000 point so I could really put it to the test.

I ran-
Bloodthirster w/ unholy might and blessing of the blood god.
Bloodthirster w/ unholy might and blessing of the blood god

5 crushers w/ instrument, icon, and rending
4 crushers

16 bloodletters w/ icon, instrument, and rending
8 bloodletters
7 bloodletters

8 hounds w/ rending
8 hounds w/ rending

Soul grinder w/ phlegm
Exalted chariot of slaanesh

He ran, from what I remember-

Kaito
Chaplain

5 hammernators
Rifleman dread

10 tac marines w/ missile launcher and plasma gun w/ razorback
10 tac marines w/ missile launcher and plasma gun w/ razorback
10 tac marines w/ missile launcher and plasma gun w/ rhino

stormtalon

Land raider crusader
Vindicator
Predator

We rolled up a book mission, got crusader (basic objective mission with each objective worth 3 battle points) and we rolled up 3 objectives.

I won roll off for first turn and gave it to him.

He deployed with the terminators in the land raider, combat squads in razorbacks and missile launchers in the rear. He spread out as much as he could to interfere with my deep strikes. Opting to go heavy, I chose (and got) both blood thirsters, both crusher squads, the chariot, and the soul grinder. They came in heavy on his left flank, ran some to spread out, and the grinder popped off his maw cannon and destroyed the vindicator.

Turn two he manages to gun down the first bloodthirster and between shooting and assaulting with the terminators killed the small squad of crushers. I had my hounds (both squads) come in, destroyed his rhino with my thirster and immobilized the predator and destroyed one of the thee las cannons. The crushers and the chariot destroyed his left flank razorback. the occupants of the razorback were pinned and the occupants of the rhino fled.

Turn three he dumped a huge amount of fire into thirster, putting two wounds on him. THe soul grinder takes another hull point, bringing it to 2 now. The terminators re-embarked. My soul grinder, still in base to base with the pred finished off the predator. My turn the two small squads of bloodletters came in. The soul grinder moved and assaulted the dread, stripping two hull points off it. The crushers and chariot wipe out the squad that fell out of the razorback. The thirster managed to put a hull point on the land raider. The squad of hounds assaulted the full tac squad, the one that had fled due to two or three deaths in the explosion of their transport. They killed one and lost none. Overall, a good turn.

Turn four saw his storm talon come in. The last thirster was gunned down, the soul grinder destroyed by the hammernators. The tac squad stayed in combat against the hounds. My turn saw the second squad of hounds assaulting into the fray of the other hound squad, the crushers, a small bloodletters squad, and the chariot moving around to and failing to assault his missile launcher squad in the rear, and the large squad now in. The large squad of bloodletters held an objective and the second small squad as well.

Turn 5 saw him killing a few bloodletters from shooting, the hounds finally finishing off his tac squad and assaulting another with no significant results, the chariot killing the missile launcher squad. We ended after 5 turns. Overall, it was bloody with me winning 7-1 battle points. I had a blast, and I think he did as well.

So now I know. Yes, the loss of initiative hurt me, the increased and variable assault distance gave me a huge advantage as did the hull point system. Hounds, with 3 S5 attacks each on the charge can be pretty nasty and really useful for clogging up the enemy.

However, I need a better way to deal with terminators. With dark angels being released soon and as many suits of terminator armor already fielded often, I need a better response. Bulk attacks might work, but I need a strong unit to force the invuln saves. For now, I will simply hope that they modify the bloodletters an khorne models in the next update and rock on with the same tactics I use.

Win or lose, I have confirmed that mono khorne is still as viable as always, and while not against a top-tier army, my opponent is a strong opponent who knows ultramarines very well and has played them for years. I am happy that the list hasn’t changed too much from 5th. I also find myself re-energized to paint and field my khorne stuff that hasn’t gotten a lot of love in the past few months in lieu of my Nurgle stuff.

Thanks for reading,
KI

4 responses

  1. Epaminondas

    I am going to regret this… but you kill termies via torrent of attacks/fire, not quality. From the rumors of DA, its going to get worse since we are getting the Ward treatment.

    Not familiar enough with your codex, but crunch the numbers to see what results in the most saves to roll. Sure, a 2+/3++ is tough to get through (even without 5+ FNP), but more dice you force me to roll, the more wounds will burn through the armor. Termies live and die based on not rolling 1s. Some games an unit can ignore 30 hits; next fail 5/6 rolls in one fight.

    Ultimate sheer numbers matter. One reason IG are a good army- they actually get enough numbers to reach statistical norms.

    November 22, 2012 at 10:49 am

    • Yeah. Khorne has a fair number of attacks with 2 on their basic troops, 3 on crushers and 2 on hounds. I think my list worked pretty well. Would love to play against your TDA deathwing list so I can tweak my list a little to make sure it’s ready. However, who knows, many rumors are abound of either a new daemon book or another daemon update in Janruary. If they update Tzeentch or Slaanesh again I’d be irked. Here’s hoping they buff up Red and Green!

      November 22, 2012 at 4:42 pm

  2. ming from bolter and chainsword

    Is the maw cannon a blast? Can you fire a blast weapon on a turn you deep strike? Just wondering…since there are some weapons that cannot be fired w/o snap shots and such depending on movement. Sounds like it was a great game!

    November 24, 2012 at 11:32 am

    • It’s a walker, so it can always fire when it moved. It doesn’t count as having ran. Yes, it is a S8 AP3 large blast weapon.

      November 24, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Leave a Reply

