General 40k Shinanigans

The Standoff After Action Review

So my FLGS has concluded its annual large hobby tournament. Among the most people were fellow bloggers Thor from creative twilight and Shiny Rhino from Thin your Paint. Also in attendance was Ripped Dragon and Ming from B&C, Kamui and Lucas (both authors on creative twilight), and Dylan (who’s exact blog name I do not remember).

I’ll caveat my blog with a sincere apology. The day started out rough, and by the end of the day I had a headache and a toothache that radiated nearly to my bottom rib every throb. So yeah, to all in attendance if I seemed very blasé by the end, this is why.

Well, the highlight of my day was the opportunity to quickly pick the brains of Todd Swanson. I approached him with a model, asked him some advice, and got a quick thirty seconds of feedback. Frankly, more humbling than informative, but awesome to hear his advice, and sort of stokes e ego a bit when someone of that calibre says you did a particular technique pretty well…yep, pretty well is good for me 😀

Onto the games. I’ll ruin the suspense. I got beaten like a red-headed step child. My battle points were 3-25-3, totaling a whopping score of 31… Oh well. Looking back, I deployed poorly for my first game, my second game I was pretty satisfied with the results, and the third game I got terrible rolls all game, he got good rolls, and he stunted my progress early and thus I never got the momentum to pick it back up.

The first game was against tau-eldar. Deployed unwisely considering the range of my enemies armaments and deployed too close. This resulted in an initial setback that while I had the game in an upswing by the end, we ran out of time. Honest analysis is that had I had another turn I suspect I could have swung the points towards a tie or win for myself as my warp talons and typhus and havocs were all still in play and in good health and his lines had started to crumble or were rapidly disintegrating.

Second game was a repeat of the last Wednesday. Same player, same armies, I think even the same mission, I can’t remember. He played IG and Tau. It was a good run, and I ended up winning and not drawing due to some lucky rolls on my part. I learned a few key things- deploy the warp talons. Is more reliable and they possess the speed and toughness to weather the hits as they jump forward. Also, don’t stick typhus in the backfield with a support unit.

Game three I was massacred. Didn’t really learn a lot as the dice rolls were so hyper-polarized. He would roll 5 6’s then I’d roll 6 1 or 2’s. He was really cool and let me run typhus (last model on table) out until he died. WEll, after about 9 or 10 game turns, he had butchered about half of his army (2 full squads of wracks, a squad of grotesques, and two homunculus ICs I think). He had a LOT of boons.

Regardless, my takeaways for the day we pick the IC based on utility. I had chosen t thus because he was a fighter and stuck him with havocs or in reserve. I may have been better with a simple sorcerer for half the points and more flexibility. However, I will likely continue to use typhus in a role that befits him. Someday with a full squad of terminators beating face. Until then I think I’ll stick with the sorcerer.

Well, the good news last. My painting seems to have improved from lt year. I won second with my sorcerer and got an honorable mention with my Epidemius and my DPoT eyeball. All in all, I hope to continue my development of painting skills and I think I will start reworking my khorne stuff as it was painted first to give it a better look (mainly the crushers and blood letters).

Well, I will now start planning my next project. I have another Bloodthirster to paint and I have been sort of itching to field both the bubbas again. Maybe not super practical, but menacing and amazing to see two 10 inch tall daemon lords bearing down on some poor marine squad. 🙂

Also, I plan to start working on several painting techniques- marble, NMMs, and maybe OSL but gonna focus on getting the other two first as both with be amazing practice for my blending and fading skills (and people already do OSL, but no one does NMM at my FLGS).

All in all, had a great day. A special thanks to the judges, they really facilitated the day and really took one for the team as they didn’t play. Sort of makes me regret the fact that I will only get to do this with this great group only one more time.

Well, thanks for reading,
KI

6 responses

  1. ming from bolter and chainsword

    Man, I was so busy and time constrained I never got a chance to really enjoy the day or drop by to see your army…the whole day was rushed, like we were trying to do too much too quickly. If you want, bring that same list to CRG or my game room some time and lets play…I’m starting to think though that generic marines painted by a master just could not do well…everyone is looking for huge details and model features…I may have to buy some detailed chaos model, re-sculpt it and paint it just to get noticed in a painting comp next time…

    November 14, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    • Would love to play against you some time. Been a long time since I played you. Perhaps ribs and 40k…now if only it wasn’t winter. 🙂

      November 15, 2012 at 9:40 pm

  2. Only one more time? You moving away?

    November 15, 2012 at 9:54 am

    • Yeah, when I graduate I’m gone man! Either getting that commission or getting a job, but this state is sinking and the job market is abysmal. 😛

      November 15, 2012 at 12:47 pm

      • justhippie

        Grass is always greener from a distance. It’s the people that make a house a home after all. Unless you’re going to China the next 4 years promise to be same old song and dance across the US. Plenty of inflation, same government deficits, more incentive then ever for jobs to go overseas, and yeah cutting the Military budget. Surely the job market will be better when all the soldiers return from overseas.
        We’d love to see you stay, and if it doesn’t work out hurry back.

        November 16, 2012 at 4:34 pm

      • Mainly hoping to get that commission. Been sitting idle playing games about war for waaaay too long and I feel rusty and unused. Time for me to get back out there!

        November 16, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Leave a Reply

