General 40k Shinanigans

Quick Update

So now with the new CSM codex out, my forces of Nurgle have changed a bit.  A few changes to my list:

 

Sorcerers are no longer the beasts in assault that they used to be.  With a lower initiative and less wounds, but a higher mastery level makes him a greater combat multiplier.

I picked up Typhus who will be joining the ranks of the Tally!  However, given the fact that zombies are not forces of Nurgle (wtf, right?) I will not be using that.  However, he WILL be arriving with my new warp talons.  With his 2/5++ save he will be a wrecking ball, and once he is locked in combat he WILL be unleashing the destroyer hive (possibly once the talons are gone).  Joy is that even if it kills the talons, they ALL count towards the tally.  Combine this with his ML 2 and daemon weapon and he is a force to be reckoned with.  HOWEVER, as an ally he does not make plague marines troops.  

 

Cultists: I can now use my rats with rifles in my CSM list.  Boo yah!

 

Warp talons:  Awesome models, can’t wait to use these bad boys!  With deep strike, ability to blind, and a 3/5++ they will be fun.  

4 responses

  1. “HOWEVER, as an ally he does not make plague marines troops.”

    Say what? What does him being an ally have to do with it? Typhus does allow Plague Marines as troops…

    October 11, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    • Read it carefully, it states that when he is in a PRIMARY detachment. As an ally, he does not fill that role. It has forced me to relook my decision to use daemons allied with CSM instead of CSM allied with daemons. Forces me to ask if Chosen or Plague marines are better for my list as I can’t put both in and have the warp talons and havoks with flakk missiles.

      October 11, 2012 at 8:05 pm

  2. Well shit, look at that. Guess I missed it since it has no impact on me.

    I think if you’re going to ally in Chaos then you’re better off using them to fill in your gaps, like AA fire and general long range fire support. The alternative is to use them to further hammer your intent. Like if you do mono-Khorne then taking units like Raptors/Talons, Maulerfiend, etc., that can all get at the enemy quickly for assault.

    October 12, 2012 at 9:00 am

    • Yeah I feel as if I have fallen away from the using them for specialized roles. Need to rework my lists.

      October 12, 2012 at 10:20 am

Leave a Reply

