General 40k Shinanigans

End of the summer

 

Well, summer for 40k is now over for me and I reflect back on my growth from the summer.  A few things of note have happened and I have realized a few things-

 

-All comers lists play well against many lists, rarely have an achilles heel but can be tough to achieve the clinch and finish the fight with.  My artillery, blob, Mono-Khorne, and Mono-Nurgle have all done well but only when I went all in for this army build.

-With the coming of 6th, fliers have emerged as just frankly, gross.  Nothing irks me more than terms such as “auto-win” besides players who jump armies and show up with un painted and often unassembled forces just to play “what’s hot” and often win.  Then they use those earnings to buy the next hot thing.  It actually makes me loathe the idea of a new daemon book as I don’t want parasites like that playing a codex I enjoy…making everyone see daemons as broken.  It’s fun to be the underdog. 😀

-I suspect that GW will do a massive errata and unleash flakk missiles to all ML for a nominal points per model….ending the reign of fliers and putting them in their place.

-Allies add a diversity to the game will be fun and should be used.  However, I see comp showing up more now to balance out some broken lists.  While no one forces people to play army a over army b, a venue could lose tournament showings if the same lists win top every tournament.  Currently, few people enjoy playing the necron players at my own FLGS, and I will not play them (with the exception of one or two of them) if I have the option.  Too hard?  No, as my daemons have never lost a game against Necrons, truth be told.  Daemons, who excel in close combat, devastate necrons in close combat and fliers won’t change that (or claim/contest for that matter).  No, it’s the player type.  Necrons have lots of good combos and are a top tier army, however the player type it attracts at my FLGS is unsavory to me.  I may be unsavory to them…all the better.

– Heavy mech lists such as imperial armored company, should it make an appearance as some rumor suppose, in regular 40k will be brutal as you can now no longer stop them from firing.  Parking lots are still annoying, but with the addition of allies no army remains unable to deal effectively with them…oh, and now that plasma can destroy the firing vehicle with hullpoints I suspect there will be far fewer las/plas Razorbacks.

-My tournament results this past summer (as well as game experience) I believe has established me as, more or less, a strong player.  Before I had struggled for front or even sometimes middle  of the pack but now I feel I can safely assume I fall in top 50% or greater.  My win/loss/draw ratio has finally broken the 50/50 mark with more wins than losses (heavily padded though with Mono-Nurgle and Mono-Khorne wins).

-Mono-Nurgle will be my army of choice for the time being.  With the exalted chariot of Slaanesh coming out, I may find myself picking up some more seekers and daemonettes (goal is 20 seekers, 40 daemonettes, so 3 boxes of seekers, 2 boxes of daemonettes) for a mono-slaanesh force.  But that is a long ways off.  Hopefully Khorne gets a boost in the coming months, but barring that my mono-nurgle with allies will be the way I go.

-I find myself playing a net list.  Which is great and horrible at the same time.  In november when I first started my tally list, most saw it as a fluffy list with little chance.  December it was 8-2-1 and I was on the top table (which I lost due to a lack of speed).  After that, most people saw it as a strong list, but not overpowered it seems.  Now, with many changes and allies the tally list has become a “net list”.  Should I change my list to avoid being considered a net-lister or drive on?  All the locals at my FLGS know I have played this list for about 8 months now, long before 6th.  This is a decision that will have to be made in the future.

-I realize that the people I enjoy playing against the most (People such as Thor from Creative Twilight, Shiny Rhino from Bolter and Chainsword, Hippie, Lucas from Creative Twilight, and a few others) I NEVER play in tournaments.  It seems tournaments are often 2 or 3 games against people I don’t play against often, and frequently, make me not feel like playing them afterwards.  Makes me debate going to less tournaments and saving my 40k time for weekly practice games.

 

Well, those are my thoughts and reflections of the past few months (and a little ranting…which frankly if you read here you are used to).

 

Thanks for reading!

 

KI

One response

  1. ming from bolter and chainsword

    Fyapowa!

    Good reflections. Sometime I’ll get a game in vs you for 6th and get to see how your list is going. Keep up the good work!

    July 27, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Leave a Reply

