General 40k Shinanigans

Second Game for 6th and a Tournament.

So, last wednesday I played 2000 points of Mono-Nurgle allied goodness against a Tau straight up Daka list.  Ton of Broadsides and fire warriors, a few pathfinders, and some vehicle I downed turn one.   😀

I ran-

Epidemius

Typhus

Chosen outflanked in Rhino

14 PBs

7 PBs

2 DPoN w/ breath

5 havocs w/ MLs

Plaguemarines in Rhino.

 

It started off as a bloodbath from turn one.  His vehicle was downed turn one, I deepstruck all my stuff off the icon on the Plague Marines.  From there, he dump a TON of fire into Epidemius’ squad of 14 Plaguebearers.  By turn 3 he had damn near killed em…until I attached him to a new squad of 7.  My DPoN (both of them) ravaged fire warrior squads, then went onto a crisis suit squad before being mauled by gunfire.  He got the ethereal killed early which meant he was rerolling 1’s for hit and wound for SHOOTING.  Oh NOOOOOOOs!!!!!!  Yeah, it was bad.

Ultimately, it was a win.  I think 13-8.  REALLY good seeing that I played against him with my daemons in 5th and he was tabled by turn 4 or 5.  He held on til the bitter end, and put up a hell of a fight.  Once the tally reached 15 and FNP was on a 3+, he was having a really hard time dropping Epidemius with his 5+, then 3+, then 2+ for LOS.  Once it hit 20, the chosen with their flamer and the missile launchers with frag missiles just about ruined his day because 4 small blasts that ignore armor are a bad thing against firewarriors, and when they are Krak missiles then they are super bad for Commanders.  😛  All in all, it was an awesome game, second game for the servants of Papa Nurgle and second win.  6th has been good to Nurgle with the addition of allies and MOST IMPORTANTLY, starting with Icons on the table (thank god for GW using exactly the same terminology!).

Then I played a team tournament on Saturday.  My teammate was sick, so I got whoever was handy.  I ended up with a codex SM player running 2 full tactical squads, a libby, and a 10 man terminator squad.  It was 1000 points, no allies, so I ran my Cordos rats.  I ran vets, primaris psyker, a squadron with a basilisk and griffon, a manticore, and a hydra (though I played against ZERO fliers….grrrr).  Oh, and a full Psyker Battle Squad.

 

First game was pretty neck and neck.  Tau and Nids vs IG and SM.  It was a Feast of Blades mission, which are unforgiving in the extreme as if you lose by a slight amount you walk away empty handed.  However, the first mission was fun and I learned how nasty barrage was in 6th.  Whiiiiich I then used the next game.

 

Next game was a bye, so I played against my team mate.  I hid in cover, going to ground again and again, hiding my tanks behind each other to get a massive bonus to cover.  With Camo Nets and a vehicle directly in front of my vehicles, it resulted in basically terminator armor on tanks.  Cover saves got that much more awesome on vehicles.  Camo nets are WORTH IT!

Regardless, Between the 2+ cover on my Penal legionaires hiding behind ruins (they had Stealth (ruins)) in a forest, they had 4+ cover, then +2 when they went to ground, giving them a 2+.  Things were going pretty well for him until I landed a 3 volley shot from the Manticore on the Libby.  He rolled enough ones that it insta killed him. 😀  Happy rats…  Then, his terminators got just close enough that I fired off Psychic Shriek after lowering their Ld to 2.  But I had G2G…so I needed a 6.  But low and behold, when I needed a 6 my dice did provide.  I hit him, he did not deny it, and rolled a 15…so he had to take 13 invuln saves on the remaining 6 terminators.

From there he was a really bad sport really…throwing his own models, huffing when his guys died.  Yeah, at first it wasn’t fun.  THEN, I realized it was funny to make a young adult act like my 2 year old and snickered as my artillery blew chunks out of his tactical squads again and again.  In the end, I won handily with him only having 1 marine from each of the squads.  Think I got a Major and a Minor for Primary and Secondary.  One more turn and he would have been tabled!  Why didn’t my dice provide a 4+ for a 7th turn. 😛

Third game was against Thor from creativetwilight.com.  It was a tough fight from the start.  In my IG fashion…I hid behind the power armor.  It was pretty simple.  fire volley, go to ground.  Fire another…go to ground again.  Yep, in the end I feel I pulled my weight from the team though they pulled a hefty win the last turn.  We ran out of time, who knows how the game would have panned out, but I suspect with no time limit they would have won with just as strong a margin.  BUT, I DID manage to pull off Psychic Shriek on a reduced Ld squad again.  Best…Combo…Ever. 😀

 

Well, thanks for reading!

 

KI

Leave a Reply

