General 40k Shinanigans

What to run, what to run, what to run.

So I played my mono-Khorne list. It is a theme of cold and hot, and it really is not far from completion (I mean, still have a thirster, but the model count is less for sure). It is by far a more impressive list as well and tons of fun to play. However, a 100% converted army is also quite impressive and turns heads and is also fun to run the big guns (oh, and I will be going back to the deathstrike). So what do I do?

Well, BOTH WILL BE PAINTED. The question is, which do I focus on? I don’t have time to build a nice board, finish all the models, and do all the real life stuff I have going on in addition all before the Novembe tourney.

I am leaning towards the daemons, but a lot really depends on a) new edition and b) new codex for daemons (keeping those fingers crossed!!!). A new Daemon book would seal the deal, but I doubt that DAEMONS will get a book until early to mid next year (if at all). The new edition may also radically change how everything works and a mono-Khorne list is completely impractical (because we all know that I build lists based on balance and practicality…).

The downside of the IG skaven is, frankly, lack of funds. I have all the models for my daemons with a few minor conversions. The IG still need lots of things, and LOTs of conversions still (everything from pistols on belts to turrets finished for tanks and guns). So, as my FLGS runs 2 hobby events a year (well this year they will be), I feel that it may be a better idea to bench the IG or possibly just bench the daemons.

Regardless, what does the community feel? Should I run my newer force, continue to drive on with it and finish painting it or work on it here and there and finish after November in leiu of building my Khorne force to a high standard?

4 responses

  1. I know this dilemma well. In your shoes I’d finish up the Deamons. You have the models so it’s just a matter of paint. As for 6th, no doubt stuff will change but I don’t see assault getting worse. It’s already the weakest phase of the game compared to the days of 4th and before. At worst you may have to make some minor changes but I don’t see your entire list turning into a turd from 6th.

    June 3, 2012 at 6:43 am

  2. ming from bolter and chainsword

    Go with a focus on Khorne…BUT get the rat guard more complete!

    June 3, 2012 at 9:07 pm

  3. Hippie

    Depending on what 6th looks like you may WANT your daemons even more. I’d just keep plugging at whatever is in the queue till 6th hits.

    June 5, 2012 at 2:32 pm

  4. Yeah, will probably focus on Khorne as I realize I am nearly complete with the force already having the remaining bloodletters, hounds, and Soul Grinder under way. That leaves just 4 crushers (will be relatively simple compared to my old ones…no conversions that require extensive kit-bashing) and doing my fire/ice Khorne themed display board…

    Oh… and my bloodthirster. yeah…that’s like a month of painting 3-4 times a week. Plus it’ll be like 2 pots of paint for the base colors. Even watered down and with only 2 coats, that guy takes up a TON of paint. Maybe it’s because I drybrush so much…

    June 5, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Leave a Reply

