General 40k Shinanigans

A perfect storm…of artillery.

So I show up last night at my FLGS to play a game with 1850 guard army that i had run the previous week. however, my opponent only had 1455 points so I ended up dropping:

The armored crew compartment from the basilisk
Griffon
Camo cloaks from command squad
Missile launcher squad
Plasma pistol from the sgt of 1st squad
2 psykers (1 from each PBS)
Devil dog

Think that was it. Well, he ran

Ulrich
Ragnar
Runepriest
squad of 5 wolfguard
ven. dread w/ assault cannon
Dread with TLLC

3 grey hunter squads with meltaguns/plasma guns

think that was about it.

So a foot army with almost no armor against an artillery army? Well this was starting to be bed for him.

Also it was his 6th game. Not as crippling as one might think, he had played in a previous tournament and come out pretty good.

So we rolled a random mission. It was KP (Not bad, I fielded 11, he fielded 9) but it meant I could gunline it on the back edge.

Then he rolled deployment. Dawn of War. Well, that was bad for him. Looking back, I should have just shifted it to pure pitched battle, but I didn’t. Then I rolled to deploy first.

SOOO, I take my vets, my infantry platoon (I love that they deploy as a single choice) and the lord commisar.

Ok, I am now going to skip the details, get to the end. By the end of turn 4, he had I think 9-12 models on the table. He had killed 6 models (4 vets, 2 guardsmen). The game had been stacked from turn 1 and I knew it. He had to walk 48″ through 3 lascannons, 3 pieces of artillery, 2 PBS, and should he get close he would have to face 4 melta guns, a heavy flamer, and a hail of flashlights. Ultimately, he never crossed the 24″ line with any unit save the the wolfguard. Turn 4 he said he had had enough.

He told me afterwards he had learned a lot, and was glad he played which made me happy to hear. He plans to add rhinos, long fangs, and some speeders to his force which will help him a lot.

Overall, had a great time. Looking forward to this Saturday!

Thanks or reading,
KI

2 responses

  1. Speaking of tournaments, you playing Daemons or IG on Saturday? Actually, are you making it?

    May 25, 2012 at 9:30 am

  2. I’ll be there. Running the rats. Worked last night to fix pretty much everything to make them WYSIWYG n’ stuff (minus things like frag and krak grenades, and a pistol here or there…). Tonight gotta bring the manticore up to speed on painting/modeling as well as figure out an ad hoc colossus (probably a BC)

    May 25, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Leave a Reply

