General 40k Shinanigans

Progress on the tanks

So I sat down and started working on my tanks.  Sick of fielding half-ass abominations, so I started working towards what I wanted.  Still have to get spikey chaos bitz to go on some of the stuff (While the Cordos rats aren’t chaos, they aren’t very friendly either…well, at least not to the Imperium) and these have the appropriate level of gore that I am looking for.

 

Here is the Griffon:

Still have some GS work around the edges of the car that the rats are mounted on, and want to touch up the bolts (as well as the rats themselves).  The cannon (for those who don’t recognize it, it’s a demolisher cannon) will get some GS work on the sides and at the base to fill in the gaps.  The holes will largely remain empty (might put some rat tails or heads sticking out on some of them however).

 

Here is some painting done on the devil dog:

 

Got some washing to do, highlights, then I think I’ll be ready to attach the wheels and start working on the outer pieces!

 

Lastly, the manticore/deathstrike:

For this, I was looking for something grisly and just downright gruesome.  Something to indicate the importance of the manticore (well, the weapon the rats strapped to a chimera chassis really).  Thus, I felt a pile of bodies on the hull was appropriate.  Well, that’s ALWAYS appropriate in 40K 😀

 

They don’t look very good now, but after it gets painted it’ll look much better.

 

Well, that’s my progress thus far.

 

Thanks for reading, as always love to hear comments and suggestions,

KI

2 responses

  1. I like what you’ve done with the griffon kit-bash. If it was an actual model, I think the gun would have a little more definition (I’m tainted by the original 2nd edition model, I’m sure, but a raised platform around the gun would help it stand out a bit more), but the end result is clean and it’s obvious what it’s supposed to be. It also looks like a rather inexpensive solution.

    I’m also a huge fan of the skaven integration into 40k as a more chaotic guard army. I used to use doom wheels as sentinels myself (but I used the old metal models, so they were a bit smaller). Is the new one comparably sized to a chimera? Also, if the new rumors about the Chaos ‘dex including cultists are true, do you have any aspirations of using those rules for this army?

    May 31, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    • Yeah, if cultists can be used in the fashion of the old traitor guard (thus could use tanks) I would be really glad to do that actually. I have contemplated it, but from many of the rumors it sounds like cultists will simply be a single option, not a build.

      Yeah, the kit bash for the colossus will be a little different. I have to acquire the parts, and then I will eventually post it. Basically the same build, but using the barrel of a stormsword for a much more robust barrel. May take off the top of the chimera to make the platform more obvious though.

      June 1, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Leave a Reply

