General 40k Shinanigans

The Rats of Cordos face off against the Ultramarines with their new big guns…

So this past Wednesday, I face off against an Ultramarine Player who normally ran a Kantor Castle style of play.  I figured, before I saw his list, that I knew his list.  However, he was running a vulcan Melta/Flamer list.  My rats survive on cover saves.  This was bad news bears for my list.  But his melta was limited in range, and we were playing Divide and Conquer like I had the previous week.  Lots of area terrain combined with a spearhead deployment led to realize I had to take a dominating lead early or fall under gruesome melta/Flamer fire.

So, I ran the following list:

Company Command Squad w/ Creed and Kell

Lord Commisar w/ Camo cloak and power weapon

2 PBS with 7 psykers each

Infantry Platoon with 3 squads (totaling 2 LC, 1 AC, and 1ML along with 2 MG, 1 GL, and 1 SR) with a commisar

1 vet squad with LC, 2 MG, 1 Heavy Flamer

Devil Dog w/ Multi-Melta

Manticore

Ordnance Battery w/ Griffon and Colossus

Ordnance Battery w/ Basilisk

He was running (IIRC):

Vulcan He’Stan

Libby in TDA w/ Avenger and Nullzone

5 Terminators w/ 3 THSS and 2 LC in a LR Crusader (the one with Flamestorm cannons spontons)

1 Venerable dread w/ MM and heavy flamer in drop pod

5 man tac squad in Razorback with TLMM (he was running them under the IA Razorback rules which allows TL MM as an option)

5 man tac squad in Razorback with TLMM

10 man tac squad w/ MM and MG

2 Landspeeders w/ MM and heavy flamers

2 attack bikes w/ MM
Yep…that’s a whole lotta melta weapons. 😛  Glad it’s spearhead.

So I win roll-off.  This is our initial setup.

The devil dog had scouted up the center t get that close.  I wasn’t cheating 😀

Turn 1

Again, I knew I had to take the lead early.  He had the drop podded dread and Speeders which would both deepstrike with flamers and melta weapons.  Before I lost tanks, I would want to hammer into his lines.

I fire the manticore first at the LR (immediately regretting putting my devil dog RIGHT next to it basically).  Score 2 hits, 2 pens, and a 6 to damage.  Things were off to a good start.

I then, through the rest of firing managed to kill only a single terminator, kill one bike and put a wound on the other (Wound from something else, and the one dead was from the manticore), stun the right side Razorback (as I am looking at it) as well as immobilized it, and shot at the left razorback with no success from the Devildog…epic fail.  Here is how my turn ended.

He then goes on the offensive, destroys the Devil Dog (not surprisingly so) and starts to maneuver his right side razorback around.  He also drops the dread in and destroys the basilisk’s Earthshaker cannon and a few guardsmen from the heavy flamer.

Turn 2:

Turn 2 saw me stunning the Right razorback and Left Razorback, destroying the dread, and pinning the terminators with the PBS/Mortar combo (Gotta love pinning).  At this point, my opponent was getting concerned at my lurching ahead early out of the gates and reducing his mobility.

Turn 2 for him he boosted his bike, got his Speeders…mishapped his speeders, and luckily got them sent back into reserve.  He had fled the terminators back during my turn and re consolidated and started to move forward.

Turn 3:

I maneuver some myself, running my vets into the left section on my end of the table, and immobilize his last Razorback capable of moving (assuming it’s not stunned).  Turn 3 He brought his bike into range and started firing on my platoon with the meltabike and the right razorback (no longer stunned).  At this point, I was getting nervous as my forward momentum had started to stall out.

Turn 4:

I manage to kill his last of the bikes, rip the TLMM off the Razorback, and destroy the TLMM off the other razorback as well.  I also finished off the drop pod.  I fire the Colossus and Griffon at the dismounted marines and manage to kill 2 of 5.

During his turn he moved around, largely without result.  However, he does manage to get his speeders in and deepstrikes them and manages to land in MM range of the Manticore (which I had saved my 4th missile for turn 5).  He then manages to destroy it. 😦

Turn 5:

Turn 5 I was concerned about my lack of progress the last 2 turns.  Thus, I decided to try to take out the weaker targets.  Destroy the Speeders and attempt to pop the razorbacks to open his troops to fire the following turn.  Well…I did destroy the speeders, but I was destined to only glance those razorbacks.  With my Basilisk and Manticore gone and his Razorbacks behind cover, he managed to avoid being destroyed.

His turn 5 I don’t think he fired a single time.  He spread out, made sure his men were in the appropriate sections and we rolled for it.  A “2”… Damn.

He took primary with each of us holding our 2 sections on our own side, and him holding a dominant lead in the center with 700 something to my 458 VP.  Again…damn.  I took the KP with a 5-1 KP (he got the manticore, but this was the only unit actually destroyed).  Objectives we split, each having 2.  Then for the quaternary I got a + 3 to his +1.  Thus he ended up with 19 and I had 16.

 

Overall, a close game.  I should have not focused fire on the terminators once they were on foot though and shifted fire to vulcan instead of the libby and terminators.  And I shouldn’t have saved that last manticore missile. 😦  Oh well, a good game and a good time was had by all.  I will say I like the colossus and it will appear in future games.

 

Thanks for reading,

KI

2 responses

  1. ming from bolter and chainsword

    Hey! Yeah maybe I had 2 KPs, but still, you wrecked my plans. Great game. Fire your FO team, since they just kept pounding the terminators rather than killing my other units…

    May 20, 2012 at 9:48 pm

  2. Yeah, I regret focusing on the footslogging dudes so much. Had I not pounded them so much, I could have hurt some other stuff. The terminators, without the assault vehicle, would have been no problem once they were in range of meltas, plasmas, and other short end heavy weapons I had.

    May 21, 2012 at 8:27 am

Leave a Reply

