General 40k Shinanigans

Deathwing against the Red tide

20120322-112027.jpg

So last night at the FLGS was the last night of the tournament. I was essentially an objective mission with only one objective in the center. He ran a DA Deathwing list and I ran a Khorne Heavy list (mainly because that is how the vet abilities fell). I ran, for 2000 points,

Bloodthirster w/ might and blessing (Had Preferred enemy)
Skulltaker
Masque

4 x Bloodcrushers w/ all options (Had Hit and Run)
4 x Bloodcrushers w/ all options

14 Bloodletters w/ fury of Khorne
10 Plaguebearers w/ Icon (also had furious charge and hit and run)
15 Daemonettes w/ Icon

Soul Grinder w/ Phlegm
DPoT w/ bolt, gaze, breath, armor, and master of sorcery.

He ran,

Belial
5 x THSS Terminators
5 x PF and LC Terminators
3 squads of 5 terminators with 3 PF, 1 CF, and 1 PW.

4 squads had a cyclone. 1 had an assault cannon.

He also ran a LR Crusader, a LR (normal), and a land speeder with multi-melta and rocket launcher.

I did not get my preferred half. I got my Plaguebearers, Daemonettes, Soulgrinder, and DPoT
Early game he deep struck his terminators (2 squads of them) and ran them. I deep struck, shot up one squad and managed to kill a single model. On his turn two (he went first) he did some more shtooting, and assaulted and destroyed the soul grinder. He had 2 terminators remaining after assault. During my turn I killed the rest with my daemonettes and DPoT. By his turn three everything had come on the table. I noticed he was holding back from the objective with his LC squad and his THSS squad (in LRs). So I destroyed the other three foot squads and then started to work on the vehicles. Belials squad got out and ran through the remaining 4 or 5 crushers, the last 3 bloodletters, and the skulltaker (as well as 9 plaguebearers….failed to roll a 1 or 2 on the Hit and Run…Ultimately, the LC squad, both land raiders, and half of belials squad fell to the Bloodthirster (who has been renamed “Seabiscuit” at the LGS). With the rerolls to hit AND WS 10, meaning his terminators only hit on a 5 and wounded on a 6 (or two in the case of THSS), and then had to crack his 4++ save. Ultimately, I ended up tabling him, but it was a really good game. This was my opponents first game in 5th edition and he had been limited on army selection due to his limited numbers of models owned.

Thanks for reading,
KI

6 responses

  1. Thor

    Beating up baby seals, eh? πŸ˜‰

    March 26, 2012 at 8:38 pm

  2. jrwilliford

    Nah….Well, I guess. :p He played his army pretty well though, so he is not exactly a baby seal (played in 3rd)

    March 26, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    • Chris

      Mission was tough, and the ++ on the deamons hurt. He knew he just had to dog pile close combat models on the objective. I was trying to spread out the deamons with the bait (I mean shooty squads) while the LRs with close combat squads hung back for a last turn tank shock/close combat to seize/contest the objective. Willy used terrain (impassible, and infinite high) to hide his greater deamon from any fire very well. The immoblization on the LRC nerfed my plan around turn 4/5. My hamminator squad just didn’t have the movement to get to the objective… and the no movement meant the LRC couldn’t run from the greater deamon. As it was, Willy was down to one troop, with maybe 3-5 girls left in it. Close run game.

      If there were more like 5 objectives, and no LOS blockers… it could have been a different game.

      Not really a baby seal- just rusty as hell and new army to boot (IG and GK back around 2003/4) I misremember more rules from old editions. I’m rereading the rule book religiously twice a day this week to get up to speed. πŸ™‚

      April 17, 2012 at 11:17 am

      • Oh I agree completely. Frankly I was shocked when I won as two things I often have trouble with are terminators and landraiders…and you had both in spades.

        I would suggest an a more aggressive approach. Had the landraiders closed with the objective and kept moving, killing damn things would have been tough. remember, never keep your vehicle stationary against an assault based army. With POTMS, you still get 2 shots and it cuts my hits in half basically.

        But yeah overall a very close game. Given a different mission I would have had to run a much much more defensive game to hide in the back and hide my troops behind objectives.

        I also think you may have benefited highly from a second hammernator squad. How much do they cost in comparison to the other guys?

        April 17, 2012 at 11:28 am

  3. Chris

    Zero cost difference – just $50 before a new edition and codex. With DA potentially coming out with a new book in May/June and a new edition this summer, I am loath to buy more right now. Besides, my wife and daughter have told me they need SOB minis!

    April 17, 2012 at 1:46 pm

  4. Ahh ok then. Yeah, guys around the shop are pretty lax on WYSIWYG and if you proxied a squad as hammernators you would be fine (just tell them what squad first obviously). I think that added survivability would work well for you and would have given you the win (if the squad that hit the daemon prince was hammernators you would have wiped him, then either destroyed or almost destroyed the daemonettes BEFORE you shot at them. ) That would have freed up your shooting game and allowed you to be a little more aggressive without worry about that daemon prince.

    April 17, 2012 at 2:56 pm

Leave a Reply

