General 40k Shinanigans

Team Tourney Wrap-Up

So yesterday I played in a team tourney at my FLGS and was paired up with Thor form Creative Twilight. I played Daemons and he ran his CSM. My list was

Masque
Chariot of Tzeentch
8 Crushers
12 Bloodletters
15 Daemonettes
6 Nurglings
Soul Grinder

He had-
sorcerer with lash
Chosen
Terminators
CSM
Plague Marines
Greater Daemon
3 Oblits

Think thats everything.

So game 1 was objectives as secondary and KP as primary. We played against Orks and IG. No idea what they had, but they had a bunch of lascannons, a bunch of ork boyz, Kans, Sentinels, some ork bikers, hydras, vendettas, and a bunch of guardsmen. oh…and nobz with a war boss in a battle wagon w/ def rolla.

This game I got my non-preferred half. This is a trend that would not break for the rest of the day. long story short, we just couldn’t make rolls. The battle wagon got to us and the nobz assaulted the CSM held section and things went to hell from there. Didn’t get the crushers in till the turn before the last turn and so they killed a blob of 26 boyz. The masque and lash sorcerer threw the boyz back again and again but eventually they got to us. Once they had closed the ground, we were screwed. Game over. We got 1 point, they got 34. Rough start.

Next we played a GK and Dark Angel list. beautifully painted models, I was simply amazed by the weapon painting on the GKs and the amazing armor work on the terminators. It was a belial death wing list (Dreadnought, Belial, and I think 5 squads of TH/SS terminators) and the GKs had a squad of strike marines, a squad of purifiers, a libby, Dread knight, and a vindicate. Oh, and a storm raven. We went first, i put in my non-preferred half, and we shot some stuff up. The daemonettes died to the dread knight who got bogged down to the nurglings for the rest of the game. Lash and Pavane were key in this game as they kept on chucking terminators back allowing us to deal with them a bit at a time. Tough to kill for sure though and we ended up with a minor win with us having 20 to their 15. Great game though against some guys from about 2 hours away, hope we made their trip worth it!

Last game was against Space Wolves and Nids. A plus of knowing you are no where near the top table, you can really have fun that last game (I have lots of experience with the bottom tables 🙂 ) So we stole the initiative and went first. Got my non-preferred half again. The space wolves were running all pods (except for a long fang squad) and the nids opted to outflank everything (gaunts, 2 x 10 gene stealers) so he deployed a Fly-tyrant and 3 hive guards. Turn two I managed to get in the crushers and they killed the tyrant. Due to LOS issues, the long fangs were very limited on targets. Again, lash and pavane were handy, allowing us to manipulate the table a little bit. The crushers would go on to kill some gaunts, and the chariot actually killed the long fangs. The CSM took the brunt of the beating this game. (Game two he had lost I think 2 rhinos and 2 plague marines and I lost everything but the masque and some nurglings). He was getting hammered by the SW pods while I ran around the table getting objectives and harassing the rear elements. This was the FIRST game where the game has covered the ENTIRE table. No area was without soldiers due to the copious deep striking. In the end, we pulled away with 28 points to 3 with us winning. In my opinion, funnest game of the day, and still a close game all the way until the end.

Overall, any day I get to play 3 games against opponents that I enjoy playing against I consider a win. I know I had a blast, hopefully my teammate did as well as my opponents. Biggest take away for me was the lethality of 8 crushers. Having the extra 4 (at a cost of 160 points) was worth it and is something I will field again.

3 responses

  1. Thor

    I agree. Being on the bottom tables does lend itself to just having fun. You know you’re not going to win the day so what else is there? That’s not to say I wouldn’t have fun on the top tables too though 🙂

    That first game though, ug. A few key bad rolls really made it an uphill battle and it was already to begin with.

    March 18, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    • jrwilliford

      Looking around, our first pairing was about the worst pairing possible for the day. 😛 Oh well, at least it was against a team of people who are cool.

      March 18, 2012 at 8:21 pm

  2. Thor

    Nah man, that Hippie guy is a dick 😉

    March 18, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Leave a Reply

