General 40k Shinanigans

Nurgle defeated?!

20120308-083254.jpgSo at the FLGS we have been running an escalation campaign. I ran Nurgle tonight and got paired up against a draigo wing list….sigh. Well, here are the high points.

Objective missions with pitched battle and objectives on far side. I of course did not get my preferred half. I fielded in total

Epidemius
Kugath

2 beasts of Nurgle

2×10 Plaguebearers
5 plaguebearers
9 Nurglings

2 DPoN

He held to the back line. I advanced, and got tore up. I assaulted with twin daemon princes and because the unit was assaulted even though the tech marine was not in combat himself, my daemon princes both died. Kugath later died. Ultimately, it came down to poor rolls on my side and a lack of patience. I should have pulled back and moved in in one consolidated advance to kill the paladins. I gave him the opportunity to kill my units fairly piecemeal and he took it, can’t complain about that. I feel part of this loss comes from questionable rules. Many questions came up- do wounds cause from perils after moving into close combat allow you to use a stave of warding? Does an IC have to be based to be “in combat” if his squad is? If the answer to the first question is no, the game would have been a win as the techmarine would have died first assault. No…I was not going to let him take back casting it. The weapon says “wounds caused in close combat”. It is not caused in close combat, it is caused as a result of a psyker power and he happens to have moved into close combat. No attacks had been made.

Oh, and psycotrope grenades are just stupid… I find it stupid that if I assault a squad with an IC with them and the IC does not base any model, the squad benefits from them. One more reason I hate grey knights.

Well, moving on, so it was a loss. Kugath died, but my plague bearer squad with furious charge now has hit and run which will be useful to break and move longer distances.

Next week, 750 point teams. Thinking on doing bloodthirster and 500 points of troops.

Thanks for reading,
KI

2 responses

  1. I have no answers for you concerning Grey Knights but you have my sympathies. I did not face GK but I also was curb-stomped thoroughly.

    March 8, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    • jrwilliford

      I lost, but I was pressing his advantage, and by the end he had taken wounds on his last 2 paladins, had lost 3/5, had a wound or two on Draigo and a wound on the Libby. I went down swinging. 🙂 Meh, I find the blog you posted concerning tiers of Army helpful when I fight Grey Knights.

      March 8, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Leave a Reply

